MerchantCircle.com is a Scam & Complaints & Review

10 Sep
2008

Just today five unique visitors hit the site looking for ‘merchantcircle.com scam’ and in the past week 25 unique visitors have.

And we are not even the #1 or #2 result.

One of these days that 575k # will be dis-regarded.

13 Responses to MerchantCircle.com is a Scam & Complaints & Review

Avatar

bisi

October 10th, 2008 at 11:12 am

I wonder if they are making any money .. Why do people consider it a scam ?

Avatar

Bob Nelson

August 30th, 2009 at 1:25 pm

We are in the process of filing a law suit against Merchant Circle for allowing defamatory posting which are nothing less than internet terrorism. They have now set up a “900″ number that you can call customer service and then pay for the call per minute and $40.00 to remove postings. If someone is determined to damage your business they just go back immediately and repost the malicious information again. You now have to repeat the process to remove the information once again. It is extortion and can be incredible damaging to any company if someone posing as a representative from your company sets your company up on the website without any authorization and then begins posting false and harmful postings. We have a high turnover in our company and any disgruntled employee can go directly to a site like this and begin working on undermining you r companies web presence with on accountability and complete anonymity. If there are any other businesses that have had these problems I would consider creating a class action lawsuit because we are filing suit as an individual company.

Avatar

John Thatcher

October 5th, 2009 at 10:22 am

The “900” number for MerchantCircle is not a real number. I have tried through operators and the number is considered inoperable. I was duped! Potential customers are duped into thinking they can write to a live person at a given company. There is a space inviting searching customers to “Speak with ” a company. Unknowingly I entered my address and other personal info thinking I would be communicating directly with the company about my account….that info got posted all over the internet and the company I thought I was dealing directly with… never knew anything. Now I cannot reach MerchantCircle to remove info.

Avatar

Akau

May 7th, 2010 at 3:33 pm

I am trying to have MerchantCircle remove a false advertiment with my name, number , & location

Avatar

Susan

June 7th, 2011 at 10:07 am

RUN from Merchant Circle, people!!! They are NOT your friend, nor a friend of your business. They’re a huge time-waster and just try to get something handled properly. No phone number, email is virtually impossible to find, and when you do find it, they don’t read it and send ‘canned responses’. My issue? It’s done nothing for me but waste my time, and now I’m having a hard time removing my company totally from their site. I get ‘deal requests’ from idiots who are asking for products and services we don’t even offer. We’re already the lowest priced and highest service in the market. TIME WASTER. I also get link requests from businesses that are not relevant to ours. TIME WASTER. I get notifications that I’ve gotten glowing reviews but can never find or view the review, and can’t find who left it just in case I want to thank them. TIME WASTER. And then today, I tried to log on to get rid of the account? Well, first they have some inane ad on their ‘front page’ and then I can’t log in. So I requested password reset three times. No password reset email received (and no – I don’t filter spam because I don’t want to accidently filter a good customer.) So then I try to write them since no phone number can be found. I get a CANNED response. They don’t even read the email. Their ‘online chat’ support isn’t available til 1 PM my time (which is 6 hrs after I started trying to remove myself from their system.) MONSTROUS TIME WASTER!!!!!!

A friend of mine suffered great damage because of Merchant Circle. She had two fired employees who started a competing business, then they took on various aliases and began to leave negative reviews for her business. Merchant Circle did nothing about it.

I will continue today to try to delete my account, but in the meantime….DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE SCAMMERS! They deserve to go down. (And…I believe I’ll spend some of my time today WISELY and post this same complaint everywhere I can. Hopefully it will help other businesses who have had to deal with this crap.)

Avatar

Susan

June 9th, 2011 at 1:09 pm

I’m back with another complaint.

I never received anything but canned responses from these scammers, so I went on their site to remove the listing totally. Well, I went through the process – THREE TIMES NOW in the past three hours. The message I get is this: (first check my email)
# Look for a message from MerchantCircle entitled “Confirm your request to remove your business listing” to confirm your request
# Click or visit the link in the email. You must visit the link to complete the removal process. Either click the link or copy and paste the URL into your browser window.
# Login to your MerchantCircle account
# Click “Remove Listing” to complete the process.
# You will receive a confirmation message that your listing has been removed.

The email never comes. Are these people that hard up? I understand they’re being sued and I can certainly see why.

Avatar

ANN

June 23rd, 2011 at 6:52 pm

How could a company with 300 complaints with the BBB in the past two years have a B+ rating with the BBB? This is mind blowing. I have attempted to have our business listing removed too many times to count and nothing gets done. They don’t answer their customer service number (the one you have to pay $35 for the privileged of speaking with a real person, every detailed email sent was never responded too, just a auto respondent message and their “live chat” feature is NEVER available. This company is a joke. I URGE EVERYONE WITH A GRIEVANCE AGAINST THIS COMPANY TO FILE A COMPLAINT ONLINE WITH THE BBB AGAINST THEM. Let’s flood the BBB with complaints that Merchant Circle will have to respond to. There is no other way short of a class action suit to get their attention. Here is the link to file a complaint with the BBB: https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/cibrbusiness.aspx?e=3979425&id=46a6a9cd-5402-454e-9476-e4df22e6f371&site=113

PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT. LET’S GET ANOTHER 300 COMPLAINTS IN THE NEXT MONTH AGAINST THIS COMPANY!

Read more: http://www.smallbusinesssem.com/strange-goings-on-with-merchant-circle/236/#ixzz1Q98QoFoL

Avatar

John H. Dickson 2

September 8th, 2011 at 3:58 pm

I cannot delete a Merchant Circle posting of my private home, address and phone number. They list me (and my family) as a “business. I never put it up and its there. I cannot take it down. The calls, the mailings…just won’t quit. I have a job, 27years now for the government, I am not allowed to “have a separate business, and I don’t”. It’s
My good name too. Its just a house where me and my family live in Fairfax VA.
There is no business there ! why can’t this be deleted ! I cannot even log on and follow “their” instructions on deleting posts. I fear that its fraudulent. possible ‘hi-jacked”. I am John H Dickson 2nd. Help! please!

Avatar

John H. Dickson 2

September 19th, 2011 at 11:38 am

I just filed a complaint against Merchant Circle w/ the “BBB”. They continue to list my private home address and phone number (I am on the “Do Not Call List”) as a business. My home is in a quiet old subdivision in Fairfax VA. It is not a business!, never has been, and I never authorized any “listing” of “My home” as a business. Why is it so difficult to get this deleted !. Calls to my home all day and night, A “map” to my front door, My good name and home address “Listed”. I fear that “MY home is a hi-jacked listing. <>> Merchant Circle..shame on you. SCAM!!!

Avatar

John H. Dickson 2

September 30th, 2011 at 8:39 am

The BBB helpped. The “false listing was removed”. Thank you BBB!

Avatar

Larry Menkes

December 22nd, 2011 at 11:44 pm

The company that I’m associated with is also a victim of false negative and positive reviews (1) for our company. It seems like they invent this stuff.

So far I’m not doing too bad with the contact email: csnotify@merchantcircle.com

However, we may consider joining any class action lawsuit.

Larry Menkes

Avatar

jorge bustelo

July 31st, 2012 at 9:38 am

i would be more than happy to start a class action against merchantcircle, somebody registered my company there and post negative reviews on me, every time you google my name shows this reviews and i actually lost several jobs oportunities because of that, it is unbelieveble !!!!!!! i sent email to this web site but didnt get any answers from them.-

Avatar

DonRoos

October 3rd, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Merchancircle has invaded my computer search engine and re-directs my searches to their loser service. I will nor patronize any company that advertises on their system

top